The coronavirus pandemic and the toll it has taken on people with chronic conditions has underscored the need to improve population health. For the second successive year, MedCity News is partnering with the New Orleans Business Alliance to host the executive summit INVEST Pop Health Virtual, November 16-18. It focuses on population health and highlights where innovation and investment are occurring in the field.

Instead of a half day in-person event, we are hosting a virtual conference over three days from November 16-18. It will feature life science leaders, providers, payers and startups who are aiming to transform population health with a heavy emphasis on addressing social determinants at a moment of great global public health peril.

You can check out the agenda here. Use the code MCN100 to get a discount when you register.

The event kicks off at 1:30 pm ET (12:35pm CST / 10:35am PST) with a fireside discussion: Diabetes, Covid-19 and the Importance of Social Determinants of Health

The pandemic has made it even more painfully clear how chronic diseases such as diabetes exponentially increase the mortality risk for society’s most vulnerable. Both companies and hospitals have a responsibility to address these. In this conversation, we highlight how a Fortune 500 company and a New Orleans hospital are addressing chronic disease care and social determinants during Covid-19.

Arundhati Parmar, VP & Editor-in-Chief with MedCity News, will moderate. The speakers include:
Takeisha Davis, MD, MPH, CEO, New Orleans East Hospital, and Conrod Kelly, Executive Director, Policy/Government Relations – Social Determinants, Merck.

Day 2, November 17, will feature the panel discussion, Reimagining Population Health, which starts at 1:30pm ET (12:30pm CST / 10:30am PST): 

The United States suffered the heaviest death toll amidst all the nations worldwide, especially compared with those in Asia. There is speculation that underlying health conditions and obesity were contributing factors. As such, population health strategies need to be adopted across the board to improve the overall health of the nation’s citizens. What are the lessons learned and what are effective population health strategies that need to be implemented?

Jennifer L. Avegno M.D., Director, New Orleans Department of Health will moderate. The speakers include:

  • Taylor Justice, Co-Founder and President, Unite Us
  • Phil Oravetz, M.D., ACO Medical Director, Ochsner Health System
  • Steven R. Peskin, M.D., Executive Medical Director Population Health and Transformation, Horizon BCBSNJ
  • Scott Tornek, Chief Strategy Officer, Penn Medicine – Center for Community Health Workers

Photo: Getty Images



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here